‘Boetie’ (Brother)

by Naretha Pretorius

A week ago we celebrated my brother’s 40th birthday! As part of his gift, I decided to make him a jesmonite cast with a portrait of him as a young boy… a memory trip to an age when life was simple, innocent and with no stress… This was also an experiment for me to see what it would be like to create a simple shape in which I can engrave various portraits… I am considering doing a series of ‘die kerkgangers’ (the churchgoers), which will follow a similar style and shape… portraits of the families that formed part of the Reformed Church that I belonged to as a child… some fond memories, but mostly that which reminds me now of conformation, conservatism and narrow mindedness. Yet, I am glad that I lived my life the way that I did, my memories make me who and what I am today.

“Veels geluk boetie, dankie vir die inspirasie en die memories wat ons deel”